So I had a baby…

I know this post comes just 9 months too late. I would have loved to introduce my little one to the world through this blog instead of facebook… but well, I didn’t quite have the energy to write paragraphs back then. So I now have a 9 month old energetic-but-fast-turning-naughty bub. Let’s call him baby V, okay? (V here is for Vedanth).

download

In my 9 months of parenting, the one thing I’ve realised is that life is an endless and vicious circle of “The grass is greener on the other side”. When baby V was a tiny newborn, I loved the break from a busy corporate life, loved the pampering and attention, and adored the sight of this cute squish snuggling against me.

As he slowly crossed the first two months, I became restless and wanted a break, if only small, every day. Just a few minutes for myself, to actually get dressed (even though I’m not going out anywhere), to meet people, to do things that I liked, for a change.

And then it was actually time to go back to work again, where I loved the 3 months of part-time working – it pretty much felt like the perfect balance between work and child. But then, alas, it was time to go back to being a full time corporate employee, and now I find myself at the opposite end of the spectrum – wishing that I was home with my baby.

Although I love working and am here because I want to.. I love the financial freedom that makes me confident that I can take care of baby V’s needs.. a part of me can’t help missing baby V every moment I work. This is a curious phase.. my heart and mind are in two different places, not doing enough in either place, never doing justice to all my roles, and on top of it being exhausted all the time and completely losing myself in the process.

Everyday I think I’ll be more organised going forward – I’ll drop fewer balls, I will not miss any of baby V’s needs, I’ll spend less time on social media, and so on. However, in my sleep deprived state (I’ll write a whole post about what a terrible sleeper baby V is later), I can barely wake up in the morning. Efficiency flies right out the window.

And then I reach home from work and see baby V’s rasagulla face, and I completely forget all these meandering thoughts, because all I want to do then is squish him and cuddle and play with him and make him laugh like there is no tomorrow.

Eventually I figured out that I keep feeling lost because I’m looking for the wrong thing. There is no normal like before; instead, there is a new normal where there is no “me” anymore, but a we – that is, baby V and me. So now instead of trying to find scraps of “me time”, I simply let go and enjoy whatever time possible with the bub.

Yes, I let myself go sometimes; I am not exactly on top of everything I need to do, I am not doing great accomplishments at the moment. But that is okay, because baby V will never be this age or this way any other day! And today, all that matters to me is every single second we spend together.

Toodles!

 

 

Leave a Reply

