Writer’s quote Wednesday – Anne Tyler

I just discovered this brilliant event created by Silver threading where we can post an inspiring quote about writing by writers every week here. Simple, yet genius – it is just the inspiration I need to keep the fire burning in my dream of writing. If anything could stop me from wavering and ground me to answer the call of my passion, I guess this would be it! This event has been going on for a while now, but as I always say, better late than never!

writers-quote-wednesday_thumb

This week, I found a very inspiring quote by Anne Tyler:

download

This quote hit me like a lightning bolt, because subconsciously this is exactly what I have been doing. I put off writing to a better moment, the weekend, a time when I get a couple of straight undisturbed hours etc. Sometimes I put it off because inspiration hasn’t struck me yet, or I’m stuck and I don’t feel like I can get out of it yet. This is nothing but an endless procrastinating list.

Writing is best done when you sit down and put pen to paper, or fingers to the keyboard as the case may be, and write from your heart.. let your fingers flow. I think this is a lesson everyone learns by and by, after a few months of looking for the right time or “moment” to write, and never getting a single word written in the process. I am thankful for being at the end of that stage and for this inspiration today.

Anne Tyler is a Pulitzer-winning American novelist; you can learn more about her here.

**Itching to open another ‘new post’ window and start letting my fingers and thoughts flow**

Writer on the rocks 🙂

2 thoughts on “Writer’s quote Wednesday – Anne Tyler

Leave a Reply

