2015 – The year of words?

That’s how I want it to be! When I took a moment to think of what I really really want to do this year, all I could come up with was two things – read and write. Well, obviously I’m not going to say ‘No’ to a yummy bowl of pasta; so I won’t be stupid enough to rule out food. But apart from that, I would love to spend my entire time reading books and writing or blogging.

Since the blog is already under progress, with a decent posting frequency and visitor count, I wanted to start reading more actively. So I’ve signed up for the ‘Goodreads 2015 reading challenge’, with a modest goal of 25 books this year. I would love to read about a 100, but practically speaking, it seems hard to get even half an hour a day to devote to reading. 😦

downloadBut hey, it is always easier to get the time to mark all the books read by my friends as “Want to read” in Goodreads, and spend at least some time each day wondering how on earth I am ever going to finish reading all those books in this lifetime! :O In case you’re wondering, my Goodreads account currently has around 300 books in it – 260 of them “to be read”! 😛

One step at a time, I tell myself. I don’t have a fixed list of books that I am planning to read this year, since I basically read anything that is printed, and everything under the sun. So when I got the opportunity to read some children’s books that I ought to have read when I was, well, a child.. I jumped at it. I bought ‘Swami and Friends’ by R.K. Narayan and ‘Matilda’ by Roald Dahl for my niece, without realising that she has already read them. So instead of returning the books and getting a refund, I ended up reading them myself. I must say, they made my new year a fantastic one – I didn’t realise just what I had missed in my childhood, until I actually read these.

805_original_1download (1)

Not that I stopped there; I had read ‘The Alchemist’ a long time back; although I loved the message, I didn’t become a big fan of the writing style itself. And hence, I’ve never actively sought out and read a Paulo Coelho book since. However, with the New Year beckoning me to try new things, I braved a Paulo Coelho book once again, and started reading ‘The Winner Stand Alone’. Surprise of all surprises, I fell in love with it only a few pages into the book! Further proof that we should give people and things a chance.. and initial impressions are usually neither the best, nor accurate. 🙂

And along those lines, there is one more thing that I really want to give a shot this year – and that is writing fiction. I did try a couple of times, and came to the hopefully erroneous conclusion that I can’t write fiction to save my life! But the more fiction I read, the more I do want to write. Hence, I’m planning to start a fiction series on this blog soon – just waiting for inspiration to strike! 😛

images

2015 is one of those years that got off to the best start for me – and I am pumped about trying a ton of new things this year. The older you get, the more you realise that you want to spend what little time you have, in doing what you love. Here is a toast to everyone who has resolved to try new things this year! Cheers! 😀

Leave a Reply

