My eyes scan the crowd for you…

6 days of NaBloPoMo, and I’ve written only 4 posts! This is a lot harder than I thought it would be… but we won’t let that deter us! 🙂

So today, due to err.. the seemingly endless lack of ideas, I decided to take the help of prompts to write a post. The prompt is “By heart” – where you have to write about a poem or song lyrics that has stayed with you by heart, and why. Immediately, my ever-helpful brain threw a couple of lines at me and commanded that I write about them; so I am writing about two such lines p one from a song, and another from a poem.

So here goes- This is from a song called “Ennai Konjam Maatri”, from the Tamil movie “Kaakha Kaakha”. I love this song as a whole, but two lines have always stood out:

Kootathil ennai dhan

Un kangal thedanum

Endrellam ennum paithiyam aanene

To give a little bit of a background into this song, the guy and the girl are slowly falling in love with each other. They go on a small trip, and this song plays during that trip. They haven’t actually confessed their love for each other yet, but are secretly harbouring feelings for each other.

These lines are sung by the girl; they mean – “when in a crowd, I want your eyes to scan for me”.

And that, sums up love for me! Whenever I’ve ever been in love, I’ve always done this scanning for him in a crowd thing. I take it as one of the sure signs of love – of that special attraction which is far greater than a crush or infatuation. This song always evokes a powerful emotion in me, and is permanently in my all-time favourite playlist! 🙂

________________________________________________________________

The other lines that have a permanent place in my heart are these, from Robert Frost’s poem “The Road Not taken”:

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood, and I –

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.

Being a rebellious and non-conforming person by nature, this poem practically describes my life. I am someone who is not afraid to take risks, who is not afraid to take the road less traveled by, and in every such instance, this has made a lot of difference to my life. Even now, whenever I am on such a precipice where I have to decide which path to go down, these are the lines that immediately come to mind and spur me to be brave and take the less traveled path – to not be scared of it just because few people have gone that route – to make history!

I can’t write poetry to save my life – but I can certainly collect such gems to treasure, and these are just two such lines that have left an everlasting impression on me! 🙂

Love,
Writer on the rocks.

4 thoughts on “My eyes scan the crowd for you…

  1. Frost’s poem is an enduring classic, and is a favourite of many – mine too.

    As for ennai konjam maaTTri, a friend of mine renders it (at least in my view) better than the original. She’s a Mallu and you follow her on twitter.

    Like

  2. I like the lyrics to the song. I think it is apart of human nature. We want someone else to want to be around us, to be looking for us. We can put all the effort in, but it’s so meaningful when another returns the sentiments 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “Hot Little Biscuit” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

