The 30-day Harry Potter challenge

So I came across this 30-day Harry Potter challenge and jumped at the chance to take it up. Except I’m making it more of a 3-day challenge, with 10 questions a day; so that, while I can write eloquent answers to my heart’s content, the idea of posting 30 new posts doesn’t blindside me from writing about other stuff that I’m intending to.

Here goes:

1. My favourite book in the series:

Order of the Phoenix, hands down. As much as I love all the 7 books, this is a close favourite, not least because when I first read this book, I was exactly 15, the same age Harry was in this book. I could totally relate to all the teen angst he was going through, although I didn’t have a scar.

2. My favourite spell:

Accio. A simple summoning spell, I know. But it is the most useful spell I can think of, in our day-to-day muggle life.

3. A character that I would love to play:

Severus Snape. The latent spy with an air of mystery. The eyes that tell everything, but nothing at the same time. I would give anything to play Snape.

4. What would my wand be like:

As it turns out, it is the wand that chooses the wizard. But if I do get an opportunity to choose mine, it would be:

Wood – Cherry
Core – Unicorn hair
Length: 12 inches

5. The House I would get sorted into:

The Sorting hat may have a very tough time indeed, deciding whether to put me in Gryffindor or Ravenclaw.

“You would do particularly well in Ravenclaw, you know..” – it would say. “It’s all here.. the knowledge, the talent.. on the other hand, there is also a nice thirst to prove yourself, and a rebellion against conforming.”

And I would beg – “Please let me be Gryffindor…”

“Are you sure?” the hat would pipe up. “Very well then.. Gryffindor it is!”

6. What do you think your patronus would be:

A squirrel. Because I had one as a pet, and I got this uncanny instinctive feeling that there was a deeper connection between us that I don’t understand.

7. Favourite quotes:

“Where your treasure is, there will be your heart also.” – Albus Dumbledore.

“Not my daughter, you bitch!” – Molly Weasley.

“Indeed, your failure to understand that there are things much worse than death has always been your greatest weakness.” – Albus Dumbledore.

“If you want to know what a man’s like, take a good look at how he treats his inferiors, not his equals.” – Albus Dumbledore.

“Just because you have the emotional range of a teaspoon, doesn’t mean we all do.” – Hermione Granger.

“To the well-organised mind, death is but the next great adventure.” – Albus Dumbledore.

“It is our choices that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities” – Albus Dumbledore.

“Albus Severus Potter, you were named after two headmasters of Hogwarts. One of them was a Slytherin, and he was the bravest man I ever knew.” – Harry Potter ๐Ÿ˜€

8. My favourite magical object:

The Pensieve. What wouldn’t I give to be able to get rid of some thoughts that endlessly disturb me? And examine them at leisure as an outsider, so that we can analyse them instead of getting all upset and emotional.

9. My favourite portrait:

The portrait of the fat lady! ๐Ÿ™‚

10. A character that is worse than Voldemort:

Dolores Umbridge – There is a certain charm and captivating interest about a person who is evil, but pretends to be good, compared to a person who is evil and doesn’t pretend anything else. Dolores was by far the most interesting character in the series.

To be continued…

4 thoughts on “The 30-day Harry Potter challenge

  1. NOT a Harry Potter fan (and I am sure I am not the first mid-1980-borns from whom you are hearing that), but I found parts of the post interesting.

    Miss. Granger’s quite, for example, appears in one of the films right? I laughed out loud as much on seeing Ron’s expression as on hearing Hermoine say that.

    I love Alan Rickman for his portrayal of Severus Snape. He has one of the voices of the generation in my view, Stephen Fry and Anthony Hopkins being two other Brits I can think of.

    And I totally second your take on evil characters, especially the ones who wear, as it were, the evil on their sleeves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

