Moonlight and Magnolias – Prologue

So this is my very first attempt at writing fiction. Although I consider myself pretty imaginative, my imaginations happen at very random moments – when I’m travelling in a bus, for example. So far, I haven’t really found the inclination to put them into writing, nor have I ever fancied myself the kind of person to write a book.

However, among my many newfound inspirations and interests, trying my hand at fiction seems like a brilliant thing to start doing! So here goes… the plan is to write a decent-length novel (eventually). I’m starting with a prologue today, and will try to post one chapter a week.
________________________________________

Ishaanvi and Maadhav were returning from a Corporate event organised by one of their peers. The event which was a Benefit for Cancer patients had included an auction, dinner, drinks and a ball. Ishaanvi had had a couple of extra glasses of wine, and they had danced the night away while being lost in each other’s eyes.

As they stepped out of the 5-star hotel and Maadhav revved up the engine on his oceanic blue Swift Desire, they both realised that something had changed since yesterday. Isha felt unusually nervous around Maadhav, while he was mentally preparing for the biggest night of his life.

As someone who doesn’t usually wear her emotions on her sleeve, Isha made a deliberate effort and chatted animatedly to Maadhav about all the fun they had had at the ball, and ranted about how Corporate Social Responsibility has just become an excuse for pretentiousness these days.

As Maadhav drove steadily towards Velachery to drop her off at her home, his heart thumped louder and louder until he was sure Isha could actually hear it. Conversely, he became quieter and quieter, just nodding and proffering fillers at the right places. As they crossed Guindy, Isha looked at him enquiringly – “You’ve been pretty quiet today.. what’s up? Something the matter?”

Maadhav had the answer – he just didn’t know how to tell her. So he turned into the left just after the landmark restaurant – Aasife Brothers, and stopped under a shady tree. Isha made no comment, but just waited with a raised eyebrow. Maadhav braced himself, and looked at her a long moment.

Then he said without preamble – “I Love You.” Isha’s expression changed from innocent curiosity to shock to something gentler with the speed of a bullet train. She averted her eyes to make sure they gave nothing away.

Maadhav continued – “I’ve been in love with you for sometime now. I just couldn’t pluck up the courage to tell you, and well.. I didn’t have any clue of how you feel about me. I want to spend the rest of my life with you Isha. I can’t think of anyone else I would rather wake up with, every single day of the rest of my life.”

Isha had suspected that he felt this way for sometime, but still wasn’t ready to hear him confess it, and was even less ready with her reply. She looked at him with a pained expression – “Maadhav.. there are so many things that you don’t know about me… And you’re my best friend.. but well.. I don’t know what to say… can I have some time to think please?”

Maadhav answered unhesitatingly – “No problem! Please take as much time as you need.” He wasn’t worried about the “so much you don’t know about me” part. They had been best friends for 2 years; he knew her like the back of his hand.

Moreover, for all the hesitation she showed now, he suspected that she felt pretty much the same way about him. He had seen the way she looked at him a couple of times in her unintentionally unguarded moments.. like when they had danced together earlier that day.

Isha, on the other hand, was in thorough turmoil. She was at last getting the very thing she wanted, but she couldn’t possibly take it. The bridge that she was afraid of crossing was here at last. She had kept postponing it for 2 years, but now the only way out was to cross it.

And now we wait.. to see if their love comes to fruition.

Leave a Reply

