Kindling it… :)

When-did-blogging-become-such-hard-work

I’ve been trying to get out of this blogger’s block for a while now, and I’ve actually tried do that a million times in the past 7 years (with my 5 previous blogs combined). Oh wait.. I think the current one is my 5th.. or is it the 6th? :O Oh well.. it is a little hard to keep track.. but anyway.. as you can see, I haven’t been all that successful in getting past it. However, today as soon as I logged into WordPress, the first thing I noticed was this article on busting blogger’s block, and I found it enormously useful. 🙂

These lines in the post describe me as a blogger to the T – “The thing is, you almost never have nothing to say. What you actually have are a whole bunch of somethings to say — you just don’t think they’re funny/clever/engaging/profound/whatever enough.” Truer words have never been spoken! When we are idle and let the mind wander, a million “somethings” slip in and out of our stream of consciousness, and we idly think of some of them as “Oh I can blog about this!”. But then we become busy.. and life gets in the way, and that “something” is forgotten about. The next time we find a little time, log into WordPress, click on “New post” and stare at the blank screen, that “something” either doesn’t strike us at all, or suddenly strikes us as too feeble to blog about! 😦

It is here that the post’s tip to “list it out” comes in handy. I personally recommend using Microsoft’s “OneNote” (it comes default installed, like MS Word, Excel etc).This software basically helps you organise, by making lists, notes, tasks etc. The tasks have a tag called “topics to blog about”. So you can just key in any topic that suddenly strikes you, and tag it as a topic to blog about. Later when you stare at the blank screen, you can just open this list and start writing about one of them. Like how I tried to do here, and completely went off-topic! 😐

I wanted to write about reading e-books vs. physical books, and how Kindle is my favourite e-reader; but I got a little sidetracked (intended to write one line/paragraph about blogger’s block, but ended up writing a whole post!) Ah well.. the ink started flowing once I put pen to paper (figuratively), and that’s what matters right?! 🙂 Anyhow, for anyone wondering why the title doesn’t match the post, here is your reason. 😉

As a blogger, one of the biggest challenges that I’ve experienced is “the fear of what other people think”. When you write a post, you’re supposed to write from the heart.. whatever comes to your mind.. in your own style.. without having to conform to any expectations/standards set by others. It is my strong belief that when we write like that, we will tend to write more and better, as that is when we reach a dangerously awesome level of freedom. Trying to think of what other people will think when they read your post – whether they will see it as “cool, intellectual, interesting, good writing style” etc is in fact crippling to an alarming degree!

I am no expert on all this, but blogging (or rather, trying to blog, and kindling the interest in others to blog) has given me a certain amount of experience that I find that I myself haven’t been implementing! 😛 Anyway, better late than never!

I swear I’ll write the post on e-reading soon. Toodles! 🙂

 

One thought on “Kindling it… :)

Leave a Reply

